A Teen’s Guide to the 5 Love Languages: Review

A Teen’s Guide to the 5 Love Languages

Relationships — they can be one of the best things in life, and yet they are so complex.

You’ve probably heard of the “5 love languages” concept, coined by counselor Gary Chapman. The idea here is that each of us has a primary “love language,” and that this is the way we most prefer to be loved. The languages are words, acts of service, gifts, quality time, and touch. If we want to make someone else feel loved, we need to identify that person’s primary love language and proceed from there.

For instance, if you give a lavish gift to a person whose primary love language is touch, he/she probably won’t be that excited. She’d rather have a hug.

Or, say your friend writes you a caring note on your birthday — but your primary love language is acts of service. You really would prefer if she would have offered to watch your kids for a couple of hours instead.

5 love languages

All of us, no matter our age, can fall into the trap of loving others the way we would prefer to be loved. That’s why books like A Teen’s Guide to the 5 Love Languages: How to Understand Yourself and Improve All Your Relationships come in so handy.

I read this book (thanks, Side Door Communications, for the review and giveaway copies — affiliate links too, by the way), thinking I could impart the wisdom to my own three teens. But while the book is geared toward teens, I learned a lot from it as well. I think most any adult could use the reminders that we should always be mindful of what makes our loved ones “tick.”

This is a slim book, at just over 100 pages. It includes a questionnaire to help those who are wondering what their primary love language might be. The book would be a thoughtful graduation gift (for those whose love language is gifts — ha ha, just checking to see if you’re paying attention!).

One of you can win a copy via the rafflecopter form below.
a Rafflecopter giveaway




15 thoughts on “A Teen’s Guide to the 5 Love Languages: Review

  1. Every family needs to own a copy of this book! Many adults have forgotten how important the “words of love” can be. Too many people depend on e-mails, texting, and twitter to convey their thank you, when a actual card sent through the mail or handwritten note would mean even more and be something to keep forever, if desired.

  2. I like the original book as well as the 5 love languages for children book.

  3. It’s interesting to read that you learned from the book. I’ve never read the original book, the one written for adults. Maybe I need to do that.

  4. This would be a good book to read. Sounds as though there is some great advice, no matter our age.

  5. Sounds like a good book. Gosh knows it is hard to be a teen these days. I have not rea the original, I need to add it to my pile.


  6. This looks like a great read that I can pass on to my daughters one day.

  7. This would be a good book to read. There are great advices.

  8. My oldest surprised me by having a different love language than I thought she would (we gave her an online love language “test.”) I think she’d really enjoy reading this book.

  9. I would love to read this book and pass it onto my cousins 🙂

  10. I think my teenage daughter and our whole family could benefit from this. I’m sure we all have different love languages in my family.

  11. My love language is validation and my husband responds to acts of service. I would be interested to learn the love language of my three children.

  12. Oh.my.goodness. I neeeed this book. I have a teenage daughter…enough said. 😉

Thanks for taking the time to comment. I enjoy hearing your thoughts.